In the state of Uttar Pradesh, India, on the banks of the Yamuna River, is the city of Agra. The city is the most populous in Uttar Pradesh and the 24th most populated in India, with roughly 1.7 million people. Hinduism, Islam and Jainism make up the three main religions. The city has three UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The Muslim ruler of the Delhi Sultanate, Sikandar Lodi established Agra in 1475. In 1526, the emperor Babar captured the city during the First Battle of Panipat. The Mughals formed an association with Agar and built the Agra Fort, Sikandra and many other landmarks. The three Mughal emperors, Jehangir, Shah Jahan and Akbar laid the foundation for the modern city. Originally renamed Akbarabad by Akbar in 1558, the city was renamed Agra after being captured by the Marathas during the 1800s. Many of the buildings are prime examples of the contemporary style of the Mughal during the 16th and 17th centuries.