Fiji: Yasawa Islands

The Yasawa group is composed of six main islands and several minor ones. It consists of volcanic islands with white sandy beaches and hilly peaks covered in rainforest. The Yasawas lie north of Lautoka, Fiji’s second largest city. They can be reached by boat from the country’s main island, Viti Levu. It is thought that European sailors discovered the group for the first time in 1789, following the Bounty mutiny. During World War II, the United States established their communication outposts in the Yasawas. In the 1980s, the Yasawas became famous worldwide after the movie The Blue Lagoon was filmed on Nanuya Levu (Turtle Island).