Czech Republic: Prague

Founded in 1344 during the Romanesque era, the city of Prague is the Czech Republic’s largest city and capital. Approximately 1.4 million people reside within the city borders, while as many as 2.2 million people inhabit the surrounding urban zone. Before becoming the capital, Prague started out as a small settlement. Now, the city operates as a major cultural center for Europe, hosting many events throughout the year. Prague utilizes a district system; Praha 1, also known as the original “Town of Prague”, acts as the city’s oldest district. Other areas include the Lesser Town, Old Town, New Town, Castle, North, Jewish Town, East, West and South.