Islay: Whiskey

Introduced to Islay by Irish monks, locals believe the process of distillation dates back to the early 14th century. The nutrient-rich soil, peat and pure water made Islay the perfect place to grow barley. Throughout the years, a total of eleven distilleries were established. The distilleries are divided into two groups: north and south. The southern region contains Laphroaig, Ardbeg, Port Ellen and Lagavulin. Bunnahabhain and Bruichladdich are situated in the northern region. Both regions create a distinct flavor of malt whiskey. The southern area distills a medium-bodied whiskey, with peat-smoke, iodine and brine further enhancing the flavor. The northern distilleries produce a much milder malt whiskey. Water used for distillation is drawn directly from the spring before coming into contact with any peat. These components result in a lighter flavor profile with hints of moss and nuts.