Mount Titano’s Three Towers

The capital city of San Marino is home to three defensive towers (of the same name) located on the three peaks of Mount Titano, which offers stunning views of the surrounding area.


“Guaita” is the oldest and most well known of the towers. Built in the 11th century, this tower has no foundation but was built directly on rock. Guaita features a bell tower and a courtyard.


“Cesta” (also known as “Fratta”) is the highest of the three towers, built on the pinnacle of Mount Titano at 2,480 feet (756 m) at the end of the 11th century. This tower once housed the Fortification Guards Division and today is home to the “Museum of Archaic Arms”.


“Montale” is the third tower, built at the end of the 13th century. It is the smallest of the three but offers the best lookout position, making it very important for defense. This tower features a prison called “The Bottom of the Tower”.